Current Size: 100%

Online Training on Clinical Forensic Examinations

Online Training on Clinical Forensic Examinations

The University Hospital Heidelberg, one of the project partners in the RiVi project, developed an online training on clinical forensic examinations that is now available to the public. The RiVi project aims at strengthening victims’ rights through improving access to clinical forensic examinations. The online training contributes to this objective by further expanding the knowledge of medical staff towards clinical forensic examinations.

The online training provides a step-by-step instruction for conducting such examinations in a professional and victim-sensitive way. The detailed instructions will help medical professionals to deepen their knowledge towards clinical forensic examinations. For instance, the video explains how to draw up a neutral documentation, how to interact with victims, which material to use during the examination and also advises on the best ways to store evidence in order to preserve DNA samples. Victims of physical or sexual violence will benefit from an optimised access to clinical forensic examinations, enabled through the increased number of aware and trained medical professionals, the evidence stored during these examinations being a key element for possible future court proceedings.

Even though the training is primarily designed for medical practitioners and health care professionals, it is also of great interest to other relevant stakeholders, such as victim support services, police or judges. The video can be accessed under the following link:

In addition to the online training, the University Hospital Heidelberg developed instructions for the compilation of a cost-effective examination kit. These instructions are available in the download section of this article.

Click here to learn more about the project RiVi: Rights of Victims of Survived Bodily Harm and Improved Access to Clinical Forensic Examinations.

Online-Training zu klinisch-forensischen Untersuchungen

Online-Training zu klinisch-forensischen Untersuchungen

Das Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg, einer der Partner im RiVi-Projekt, hat ein Online-Training zum Thema klinisch-forensische Untersuchungen entwickelt, das nun öffentlich verfügbar ist. Ziel des RiVi-Projekts ist es, die Rechte von Gewaltopfern durch einen verbesserten Zugang zu klinisch-forensischen Untersuchungen zu stärken. Das Online-Training trägt dazu bei, das Wissen des medizinischen Personals in Hinblick auf klinisch-forensische Untersuchungen zu erweitern.

Das Online-Training bietet eine Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitung zur professionellen und opferorientierten Durchführung dieser Untersuchungen. Mithilfe detaillierter Erklärungen soll das Wissen des medizinischen Personals bezüglich klinisch-forensischer Untersuchungen vertieft werden. Das Video beschreibt beispielsweise die Erstellung einer neutralen Dokumentation, den Umgang mit Gewaltopfern, das für die Untersuchung benötigte Material und die Aufbewahrung der Beweismittel, um DNA-Proben zu erhalten. Durch die erhöhte Anzahl an sensibilisierten und ausgebildeten medizinischen Fachkräften wird der Zugang zu klinisch-forensischen Untersuchungen für Gewaltopfer verbessert. Dies ist wichtig, da die während dieser Untersuchungen aufgenommenen Beweise für eventuelle künftige Gerichtsverfahren von zentraler Bedeutung sind.

Obwohl sich das Training in erster Linie an Ärzt*innen und medizinisches Personal richtet, ist es für andere Stakeholder wie Opferschutzeinrichtungen, Polizei oder Justiz ebenfalls relevant. Das Video kann unter folgendem Link abgerufen werden:

Zusätzlich zum Online-Training hat das Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg eine Anleitung zur Erstellung eines kostengünstigen Untersuchungs-Kits erstellt. Diese Anleitung ist im Download-Bereich dieses Artikels verfügbar.

Hier gibt es weitere Informationen zum Forschungsprojekt RiVi: Zum Recht von Gewaltopfern auf den Zugang zu klinisch-forensischen Untersuchungen.