Current Size: 100%

Judging the Charter

The Charter in judicial practise with a special focus on the case of protection of refugees and asylum seekers

The project Judging the Charter, having started in September 2016, aims at increasing competencies of judges and other legal professionals in relation to the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union, in particular at sharing knowledge, how judiciary and academia are interpreting crucial questions relating to the applicability of the Charter and the rights and principles enshrined by the Charter. Generally awareness of the target group shall be increased about ways how Charter rights and princples can be applied and which potentials they could have even if - or maybe exactly because - rights security in this regard is rather limited. One focus of the project will be the role of Charter rights in asylum cases. The project is characterised by direct interaction with judges and other legal professionals in seminars and (international) working conferences but also seeks to develop a 'knowledge data base' on Charter rights as well as e-learning materials, which will be accessible online to members of the target group as well as to a wider public.

The project is being implemented in cooperation with the  Instituto di Studi Giuridici Internazionali (CNR-ISGI, Rom), the Institute for Law and Society (INPRIS, Warschau), the Croatian Ombudsman Office (Zagreb), the Center for European Constitutional Law  (CECL, Athen) and the Federal Ministry for Justice (Austria). It will last for two years until August 2018 and includes the following components:

  1. Judicial training and development of training materials: The project seeks to provide an overview of what is already there in terms of training materials on the Charter. The project website is envisaged to function as a portal providing access to all materials directly or via a link. E-learning tools will aim at acquainting with the topic in an interactive way and at enabling users to 'test' the potentials the Charter might provide. Trainings for judges and legal professionals on questions of general interest as well as on concrete legal fields like labour law, familiy law of social rights are currently organised in all partnering countries (AT, EL, HR, IT, PL, RO).
  2. The Charter and the right to asylum: One component of the project has a special focus on the role of the Charter in the field of asylum. Based on existing research the significance of the Charter for the European as well as for national asylum law systems are analysed. Research findings will feed into training materials on the Charter and its applicability in judiciary practise in the field of asylum law. In the course of elaborating materials two pilot trainings are conducted in each partnering country. 
  3. Sharing experience and dissemination: Two working conferences for judges and legal professionals in Vienna and in Athens aim at providing a platform for sharing experiences in applying Charter rights. Project findings will also be disseminated to a wider public via penal discussions and at an international conference in Rome.

The project is implemented in cooperation with the Judical Acadmies of Croatia, Italy, Romania and Slovenia.

Contact persons: 
Lead Organisation: 
Ludwig Boltzmann Institut of Human Rights
Partner organisations: 
ISGI-CNR (IT), INPRIS (PL), CECL (HE), Ombudsman Office (HR), Federal Ministry for Justice (AT)
Project start: 
09/2016
Project end: 
08/2018
Funded by: 
European Commission - DJ Justice, BMJ
Team: 
Anti-Discrimination, Diversity and Asylum

Co-funded by the Justice Programme of the European Union 

Disclaimer

This project is implemented with the financial support of the Justice Programme of the European Union. The contents of this website are the sole responsibility of the BIM and its project partners and can in no way be taken to reflect the views of the European Commission.

Judging the Charter

Die Charter in der richterlichen Praxis mit einem speziellen Fokus auf dem Schutz für Flüchtlinge und Asylsuchende

Das Projekt Judging the Charter, das im September 2016 gestartet hat, zielt darauf ab die Kompetenzen von Richtern und Richterinnen im Hinblick auf die EU Charter der Grundrechte zu stärken, insbesondere zu vermitteln, wie Rechtsprechung und akademische Literatur zu entscheidenden Fragen im Hinblick auf die Anwendbarkeit der Charter und die Interpretation der in ihr garantierten Rechte und in ihr verankerten Prinzipien stehen. Ganz generell soll das Bewusstsein bei der Zielgruppe erweitert werden, in welcher Form Charter Rechte und Prinzipien angewandt werden können und welche Potentiale sie haben könnten auch wenn – oder vielleicht gerade weil – die diesbezügliche Rechtssicherheit beschränkt ist. Eine Komponente des Projektes widmet sich dabei der möglichen Rolle der Charter in der Asylrechtspraxis.  Im Rahmen des Projektes werden wir abgesehen von der direkten Arbeit mit Richtern und Richterinnen im Rahmen von Seminaren und (internationalen) Arbeitskonferenzen auch eine breit angelegte „Wissensbank“ zum Thema elektronisch zu Verfügung stellen und insbesondere auch E-Learning Materialien entwickeln.

Das Projekt, das in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Instituto di Studi Giuridici Internazionali (CNR-ISGI, Rom), dem Institute for Law and Society (INPRIS, Warschau), dem kroatischen Ombudsman Office (Zagreb), dem Center for European Constitutional Law  (CECL, Athen) sowie dem Bundesministerium für Justiz durchgeführt wird, wird bei einer Laufzeit von 2 Jahren (bis August 2018) folgende Komponenten beinhalten:

  1. Richter_innentrainings und Entwicklung von Trainingsmaterialien: Im Rahmen des Projektes soll versucht werden einerseits einen Überblick darüber zu erlangen, was es bereits an Trainingsunterlagen zum Thema gibt; diese werden dann alle über die Projektwebsite entweder direkt oder per Link zugänglich sein. Andererseits werden E-Learning Tools entwickelt, die auf interaktive Weise an die Themen heranführen und ein „Austesten“ der Potentiale, die die Charter bieten könnte, ermöglichen. Trainings für Richter_innen zu grundsätzlichen Fragen der Anwendbarkeit sowie zu konkreten Rechtsgebieten wie Arbeitsrecht, Familienrecht oder sozialen Rechten werden in allen Partnerländern (AT, HE, HR, IT, PL, RO) veranstaltet.
  2. Die Charter und das Recht auf Asyl: Eine Komponente des Projektes legt einen speziellen Fokus auf die Relevanz der Charter für den Asylbereich. Basierend auf bereits bestehender Forschung soll die Bedeutung der Charter für das europäische sowie für nationale Asylrechtssysteme analysiert werden. Die Forschungsergebnisse werden dann in direkt anwendbare Trainingsmaterialien zur Charter und zu ihrer Anwendbarkeit in der richterlichen Praxis im Asylbereich einfließen. Im Zuge der Ausarbeitung der Unterlagen finden in jedem Partnerland zwei Pilottrainings statt.
  3. Erfahrungsaustauch und Verbreitung: Durch die Veranstaltung von zwei Arbeitskonferenzen für Richter und Richterinnen soll der Austausch von Erfahrungen mit der Anwendung von Charterrechten ermöglicht werden. Eine der beiden Konferenzen hat im März 2017 in Wien – unter Federführung  der Fortbildungsabteilung des BMJ - stattgefunden. Projektergebnisse werden darüber hinaus in Podiumsdiskussionen sowie im Rahmen einer internationalen Abschlusskonferenz in Rom im Mai 2018 einer weiteren Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt.

Das Projekt wird durchgeführt in Zusammenarbeit mit den Justizakademien in Italien, Kroatien, Slowenien und Rumänien.

Kontakt: 
Trägerorganisation: 
Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für Menschenrechte
Partnerorganisationen: 
ISGI-CNR (IT), INPRIS (PL), CECL (HE), Ombudsman Office (HR), Bundesministerium für Justiz (AT)
Projektstart: 
09/2016
Projektende: 
08/2018
Gefördert von: 
Europäische Kommission, BMJ
Team: 
Anti-Discrimination, Diversity and Asylum

Co-funded by the Justice Programme of the European Union 

Disclaimer

This project is implemented with the financial support of the Justice Programme of the European Union. The contents of this website are the sole responsibility of the BIM and its project partners and can in no way be taken to reflect the views of the European Commission.